Graduate Students

Abubakar Abdulkadir

Ph.D. Student, History and Classics

Research project: The ‘Emergence’ of the Verse Tradition in Mauritania: Intellectual History and the Culture of Islamic Scholarship in the “Land of Million Poets.”

Emad Afkhsan

PhD Candidate; History, Classics & Religion

Thesis topic: His project examines peasant unrest and power relationships in Safavid Persia, known as the Siyāh pūshān.

afkham@ualberta.ca

Sayeed Al-Zaman

MA Student, Digital Humanities
Research topic: Religious misinformation on social media in Bangladesh

 

Houssem Ben Lazreg

PhD Candidate, Modern Languages and Cultural Studies
benlazre@ualberta.ca

Ahmed El-Damanhoury

MA Student, History and Classics
Thesis Topic: The forgotten founders of Egyptian football: Sports, Culture and Society (1890-1956)

Rezvaneh Erfani

PhD Candidate, Sociology
Title of Research Project: A Post-Colonial Critique of the Global Environmental Justice Discourse
rezvaneh.erfani@gmail.com

Darush Farrokh

Ph.D. Student, Sociocultural Anthropology

darush@ualberta.ca

 

Anas Fassih

PhD Student, Political Science
fassih@ualberta.ca

Hajar Ghorbani

PhD Candidate, Music
Topic of Dissertation: The Dissemination of Azerbaijani Pop Songs in Iranian Azerbaijan
nikaeen@ualberta.ca

Nazli Gul Deniz Claeys

PhD Student, Political Science
denizcla@ualberta.ca

Hande Gür

PhD Candidate, Anthropology
Thesis topic: The rise of Sufi mystical practices among young, middle-class women of Turkish origin living both in Turkey and the West.
gur@ualberta.ca

Reyhaneh Javadi

PhD Student, Sociology and Social Anthropology
Topic of Dissertation: Encroachments in Juridicial Field: Iranian’s struggle for Rights as a Social Non-Movement.
javadi1@ualberta.ca

Ehsan Kashfi

PhD Candidate, Political Science
kashfi@ulaberta.ca

Uthman Khan

PhD student, Sociocultural Anthropology

Reza Khodarahmi

PhD Student, Political Science 
rkhodara@ualberta.ca

Emad Mousavi

Ph.D. Student, Philosophy 

Shahab Nadimi

Ph.D. candidate, Modern Languages and Cultural Studies

nadimi@ualberta.ca

Md Nazmul Arefin

PhD Student, Sociology
Thesis topic: Islamophobia in Canada: Exploring the lived experiences of Muslim university students.
marefin1@ualberta.ca

Behrang Nikaeen

PhD Candidate, Music
Title of Dissertation: The impact of Iran’s post-revolutionary cultural policies on Persian classical music composition
rezania@ualberta.ca

Saman Rezaei

PhD student, Modern Languages and Cultural Studies
Thesis topic: His thesis examines the idea of a leading Muslim mystic, Suhrawardi, and his theory of intuitive ontology through narrative structures and symbols, and the influence of this ontology on the transformation of the substance of symbols.

srezaei@ualberta.ca

Mehdi Rezania

PhD Candidate, Music
Title of Dissertation: The impact of Iran’s post-revolutionary cultural policies on Persian classical music composition
rezania@ualberta.ca

Rojina Sabetiashraf

MA Student, Art History

sabetias@ualberta.ca

Arshad Said Khan

PhD Student, English and Film Studies
Thesis Topic: Hijra Nation: Representing the Subaltern in Postcolonial Narratives, Films and Life Writing
ask1@ualberta.ca

Mailk Samara

Ph.D. student, Political Science
Thesis Topic: Malik critically examines the presumed ideological, religious, and political threads linking the Palestinian group of Hamas and the Lebanese Hezbollah.

mmsamara@ualberta.ca

Sajad Soleymani Yazdi

PhD Candidate, Modern Languages and Cultural Studies
Title of Dissertation: Of Sand and Snow: The Eco-Witnesses of Canadian Settler Muslims and The Cree
ssoleyma@ualberta.ca

Laya Soleymanzadeh

MA student, Modern Languages and Cultural Studies
Thesis topic: Her doctoral project, titled “Narrative and Metanarrative Hospitality in Marjane Satrapi’s Persepolis,” challenges reductionist Orientalist and/or Occidentalist narratives. 

lsoleyma@ualberta.ca

Samira Torabi

PhD Candidate, Anthropology
Title of Dissertation: Women Creating New Spaces: Reconfiguring Gender Segregation in Iran
torabi@ualberta.ca

Nakita Valerio

PhD Student, Religious Studies

Salima Versi

PhD Student, Religious Studies

sversi@ualberta.ca