Graduate Students


PhD Students:

Abdolmaleki, Kara <abdolmal@ualberta.ca>
Comparative Literature
Title of Dissertation: “The Return of the Repressed”: Revolt against Post-coup Modernization of Iran in Literature and Film

Abdulkadir, Abubakar S. <aabdulka@ualberta.ca>
History & Classics
Title of Dissertation: ‘The Land of Poets’: Mauritania, history and poetic scholarship (18th-19th centuries)

Ahmadian, Nasim <nahmadia@ualberta.ca>
Music
Title of Dissertation: The Sweetness of Sadness in Traditional Iranian Classical Music

Alibrahim, Bashair <bashair@ualberta.ca>
Modern Languages and Cultural Studies

Amidian, Hajar <amidian@ualberta.ca>
Political Science
Title of Dissertation: Rentier State and Authoritarianism: A Critical Study of Post-Revolutionary Iran

Ben Lazreg, Houssem <benlazre@ualberta.ca>
Modern Languages and Cultural Studies

Boussaleh, Zahra <boussala@ualberta.ca>
Religious Studies

D’Orazio, Dax <daxdorazio@gmail.com>
Political Science

El Kadi, Rana <alkadi@ualberta.ca>
Music

Hamdon, Evelyn <ehamdon@ualberta.ca>
Educational Policy Studies

Hemani, Shumaila <hemani@ualberta.ca>
Music
Title of Dissertation: Modernities in South Asia: Singing the Sufi tradition of Shah-jo-Raag Across the Borders of Pakistan and India

Karimi, Aryan <akarimi1@ualberta.ca>
Sociology

Keskin, Emrah <keskin@ualberta.ca>
Political Science
Title of Dissertation: Mental Health and Psychosocial Support Programs and Reconciliation: A Case Study in Bosnia and Herzegovina

Khaira, Arshdeep <arshdeep@ualberta.ca>
Ethnomusicology
Title of Dissertation: Can The Punjabi Sufi Music Revival Lead to Cultural Interdependence in the Divided Region and the Promotion of Peace Along the International Border?

Mehrabi, Shadi <smehrabi@ualberta.ca>
Educational Policy Studies
Title of Dissertation: Middle-eastern International Student’s Identities and Experiences in Canada

Mills, Fred <fvmills@gmail.com>
History & Classics

Modarres, Mansoureh <modarres@ualberta.ca>
Comparative Literature
Title of Dissertation: Re-imagining Female Subjectivity through Narratives: A Transnational Study of Contemporary Women’s Writings in Persian and English

Mohaghegh Neyshabouri, Safaneh <safaneh@ualberta.ca>
Comparative Literature
Title of Dissertation title:  Politics of Identity and Self-formation in Iranian Diaspora Female Writers

Noori Shirazi, Somayeh <noorishi@ualberta.ca>
Arts and Design
Title of Dissertation: Distorted Identities: Interpreting the Contemporary Iranian Art through the Works of Three Women Artists

Pakravan, Mahsa <pakravan@ualberta.ca>
Music
Title of Dissertation: Sonic memory and Cultural identity in Iran: a case study of Jewish people in the Udlajan area of Tehran

Pourmokhtari Yakhdani, Navid <npourmok@ualberta.ca>
Political Science
Title of Dissertation: The Green Movement: A History of Social Mobilization and Political Contestation in Post-revolutionary Iran

Safshekan, Roozbeh <roozbeh.safshekan@ualberta.ca>
Political Science
Title of Dissertation: Exercise of Power in Cyberspace: A Case-study of the Islamic Republic of Iran’s Cyber Policy

Salehyar, Hamidreza <hsalehya@ualberta.ca>
Music

Shahtoosi, Shahnaz  <shahtoosi.shahnaz@yahoo.com>
Translation Studies
Title of Dissertation: The Role of Censorship in dubbing English and French Movies into Persian

Shiravand, Sohrab <sohrab@ualberta.ca>
Sociology
Title of Dissertation: Sovereignty without Nationalism, Islam without God: A Critical Study of the Works of Jalal Al-e Ahmad

Daniel Stadnicki <stadnick@ualberta.ca>
Music
Title of Dissertation: Music in the Faith: Canadian-Iranian Baha’is’s musical practice

Versi, Salima <salima.versi@gmail.com>
Religious Studies
Title of Dissertation: This Home: Khoja Nizari Ismaili Identity in Canada


MA Students:

Nafisa Abdulhamid <nabdulha@ualberta.ca>
Political Science

Charradi, Sahar <charradi@ualberta.ca>
English and Film Studies
Title of Research Project: The R word: Reforms for LGBTQ rights in the Middle East and the Life of Intersectionality

Dumanian, Armen <dumanian@ualberta.ca>
Political Science
Title of Research Project: Militarism and Leadership in the Middle East: A Comparative Constitutional Study of Egypt and Turkey

Erfani, Rezvaneh <rezvaneh.erfani@gmail.com>
Sociology and Political Science
Title of Research Project: A Post Colonial Critique of the Global Environmental Justice Discourse

Harder, Ardythe <alharder@ualberta.ca>
Political Science
Title of Research Project: Role of Narrative in the Israeli-Palestinian Conflict

Hosseiniparvar, Hossein <hosseini@ualberta.ca>
Music
Title of MA Thesis: “​Silence​”​​ ​in Ritual, Mystical and Musical Practice in the Middle East and Central Asia

Maseehuddin, Farooq
Educational Policy Studies
Title of Research Project: The Structural Tensions of North American Muslim Communities

Meissner, Marcus <mmeissne@ualberta.ca>
History & Classics
Title of Research Project: From the Edge of (the Ottoman) Empire: revisiting Rifa’at ‘Ali Abou AI-Haj and Formation of the Modern State

Rezania, Mehdi <rezania@ualberta.ca>
Music
Title of MA Thesis: The impact of Iran’s post-revolutionary cultural policies on Persian classical music composition

Torabi, Samira <torabi@ualberta.ca>
Anthropology
Title of MA Thesis: Women Creating New Spaces: Reconfiguring Gender Segregation in Iran

Valerio, Nakita <nvalerio@ualberta.ca>
Religious Studies/History & Classics
Title of Research Project: Al-Yehud Through the Shoah: Pedagogical Approaches to Teaching the Holocaust and Jewishness Among Contemporary Moroccan Muslims

Zaamout, Noureddin <zaamout@ualberta.ca>
Political Science
Title of Research Project: The Syrian Winter: From Revolution to Civil War