Graduate Students


PhD Students:

Abdulkadir, Abubakar S. <aabdulka@ualberta.ca>
History & Classics
Title of Dissertation: ‘The Land of Poets’: Mauritania, history and poetic scholarship (18th-19th centuries)

Ahmadian, Nasim <nahmadia@ualberta.ca>
Music
Title of Dissertation: The Sweetness of Sadness in Traditional Iranian Classical Music

Akpinar, Neslihan <akpinar@ualberta.ca>
Political Science

Alibrahim, Bashair <bashair@ualberta.ca>
Modern Languages and Cultural Studies

Amidian, Hajar <amidian@ualberta.ca>
Political Science
Title of Dissertation: Rentier State and Authoritarianism: A Critical Study of Post-Revolutionary Iran

Ben Lazreg, Houssem <benlazre@ualberta.ca>
Modern Languages and Cultural Studies

D’Orazio, Dax <daxdorazio@gmail.com>
Political Science

Erfani, Rezvaneh <rezvaneh.erfani@gmail.com>
Sociology and Political Science
Title of Research Project: A Post Colonial Critique of the Global Environmental Justice Discourse

Fassih, Anas<fassih@ualberta.ca>
Political Science

Kashfi, Ehsan <kashfi@ualberta.ca>
Political Science

Keskin, Emrah <keskin@ualberta.ca>
Political Science
Title of Dissertation: Mental Health and Psychosocial Support Programs and Reconciliation: A Case Study in Bosnia and Herzegovina

Khaira, Arshdeep <arshdeep@ualberta.ca>
Ethnomusicology
Title of Dissertation: Can The Punjabi Sufi Music Revival Lead to Cultural Interdependence in the Divided Region and the Promotion of Peace Along the International Border?

Mabrouk, Miriam <mabrouk@ualberta.ca>
English & Film Studies

Mohammadi, Banafsheh <banafshe@ualberta.ca>
Art & Design

Noori Shirazi, Somayeh <noorishi@ualberta.ca>
Arts and Design
Title of Dissertation: Distorted Identities: Interpreting the Contemporary Iranian Art through the Works of Three Women Artists

Ojakovo, Gabriel <ojakovo@ualberta.ca>
Music

Rezania, Mehdi <rezania@ualberta.ca>
Music
Title of Dissertation: The impact of Iran’s post-revolutionary cultural policies on Persian classical music composition

Sajad Soleymani Yazdi<ssoleyma@ualberta.ca>
Modern Languages and Cultural Studies

Torabi, Samira <torabi@ualberta.ca>
Anthropology
Title of Disseration: Women Creating New Spaces: Reconfiguring Gender Segregation in Iran

Daniel Stadnicki <stadnick@ualberta.ca>
Music
Title of Dissertation: Music in the Faith: Canadian-Iranian Baha’is’s musical practice

Versi, Salima <salima.versi@gmail.com>
Religious Studies
Title of Dissertation: This Home: Khoja Nizari Ismaili Identity in Canada

Zaamout, Noureddin <zaamout@ualberta.ca>
Political Science
Title of Research Project: The Syrian Winter: From Revolution to Civil War


MA Students:

Charradi, Sahar <charradi@ualberta.ca>
English and Film Studies
Title of Research Project: The R word: Reforms for LGBTQ rights in the Middle East and the Life of Intersectionality

Kazanbas, Esra <kazanbas@ualberta.ca>
Women’s and Gender Studies

Maseehuddin, Farooq
Educational Policy Studies
Title of Research Project: The Structural Tensions of North American Muslim Communities

Meissner, Marcus <mmeissne@ualberta.ca>
History & Classics
Title of Research Project: From the Edge of (the Ottoman) Empire: revisiting Rifa’at ‘Ali Abou AI-Haj and Formation of the Modern State

Mesbahian, Ali <mesbahia@ualberta.ca>
Philosophy

Yousif, Miraaj <miraaj@ualberta.ca>
Women’s and Gender Studies